Stepping Stones

"The river rushes ever so fast,
ever so constantly.
It is a struggle to make the crossing. 
Take one stepping stone at a time,
one foot after the other,
slowly, but surely...
Make the great leap to the other side."

- Stepping Stones, 07/18/16

Celebrating 5 years of this amazing flight through life, I present the new look of theangeltakesflight! Cool, yeah? :) Credits to Shari Altamera for the shot taking waaaay back in 2012 during our trip to Guimaras Island, and to my lil’ bro, Chino Dumatol for the great editing work!

We’ve been medical interns for three weeks now! And so far, so good, I think. It felt bittersweet to be back in the hospital after a month’s break (the happenings of which I have yet to fully chronicle), and though part of me will always yearn for the chill life, another part is actually glad to be back.

Opening the year with a week at the MICU and a week at the Gen Med ER was tiring! Thank God for awesome residents, great duty mates, and amazing block mates to make things bearable and, at most times, fun. It does make a big difference. I’ve still got a lot to learn, but I’m very eager to continue growing to become the very best doctor that I can be.

It’s definitely not easy. Once again adjusting to daily grind of the pre-duty-post cycle, as well as the countless number of orders to carry out, chart and conduct, proved to be a challenge for the brain and body that still weren’t satisfied with a month of restless vacationing (blame it on the novel that has STILL yet to be finished!). To make things worse, at the back of my mind, I’m still really worrying about STILL not having a clear picture of what I want to do after internship and boards. What path to take? What path to take?

Still, as with every journey that requires a giant leap of faith, you can only take one stepping stone at a time, one rotation at a time. With hard work, prayer, and some miracles here and there, anything is possible. The right path has yet to open for me, and I only have to believe in it!

13567301_10208836852532228_830204803244661243_n
Presenting the Ladies of UP-PGH Interns 2016-2017 Block J!  Here’s to a great year with you, girls!

We’re currently on our Orthopedics rotation, and while I’ve never pictured myself in the field, it’s been okay so far! Then again, I haven’t had an ER duty yet, so yeah… I maybe speaking too soon. Haha! Here’s to a benign duty tomorrow! Hoping for the best! :) Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be spending the rest of my pre-duty day, getting some writing AND studying in.

Soar high!

13569839_10208811565860077_2006580874_o
Donning the Intern’s coat really does make a difference! It makes me feel more responsible in the way that I have to be extra mindful of my actions as well as decision-making! Patients and watchers designate me with the title “Doktora” without any hesitation now. With the extra kulit bantay even jokingly calling me Doktora Kim Chiu (after the Chinita actress) and promising to help me find my Xian Lim (said actress’s love team partner). Haha!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stepping Stones

Leave a Reply

