2015: a tribute

It’s December 31st of 2015, the year that, in a matter of hours from now will soon be known as the year that was. It’s the last day of the year and so, like many others, I can’t help but look back at the things that have happened.

What a year it has been, this whirlwind of events and emotions. It definitely had its fair share of up’s and down’s, laughter and tears, victories and failures. There have been so many surprises, not all of them good, not all of them bad.

I got to see the Pope personally, albeit only for a few seconds. I earned my bachelor’s degree in Basic Medical Sciences. I visited new places and tried out new things. I fell in and out (and then in again) love with both medicine and literature. I was eased into the world of the hospital, a big leap towards the future I always thought I wanted for myself. I discovered things that I wouldn’t mind doing for a lifetime as well as things that I wish I would never have to do ever again. I experienced great joy in the company of the people who matter most as well as terrible melancholy in the loneliness of heartbreak. I felt helplessness in the most inopportune of moments as the physical, emotional, mental, and even spiritual pains became too much to bear. I was able to stand up again and, in spite of my continuing recovering, am still hoping that complete healing would indeed be possible. I learned (and am still continuing to learn) how to distinguish what is true from what is not, but I have yet to fully accept how there are things that you just can’t change, no matter how much you want them to. But, I also learned that there are certain things that you can count on to never change, things that you can always depend on to be there for you, through thick and thin, though all the whirlwinds you will ever have to face.

I’d like to think that 2015 has helped me grow up, helped me figure out a lot of things about myself, about other people, about the world, but I think it has left far more questions than answers. Here’s to hoping the new year will be able to bring certain things into light.

As I bring yet another chapter to a close, I am both excited and terrified (mostly terrified) about writing the next one.

Leave a Reply

