Hooray for Higher Learning: Angeli in SLMC Week 2

Well, I say week, but it’s really just two days, on account of the intense weather and the threat of floods and sickness that caused my preceptor to cancel my learning activities for Wednesday through Friday. And as bummed out as I am about missing a chance to learn, safety first! Habagat was crazy over the past couple of days! And as I write this particular entry, the rains are still at it and I could only hope that the sun would show up sooner rather than later.

Weather musings aside, my Monday and Tuesday were spent at the 1st International Course on Minimally Invasive Surgery, a continuing medical education activity of the St. Luke’s Institute of Surgery featuring didactics and soft tissue human cadaver dissection as part of this advanced laparoscopic and endoscopic workshop. It just so happens that my elective period coincided with this activity, so by all means, I was allowed to attend. :)

DAY SIX – SEVEN: MONDAY – TUESDAY, JULY 6-7, 2015

Minimally Invasive Surgery Course! Hoorah for higher learning – Loop Duodenojejunal Bypass With Sleeve Gastrectomy! Got to try the cool Simbionix training simulator.

1st International Course on MIS

It was an advanced training course, so it was understandable that a 4th year medical student like me could only understand so much. Day One and Two of the workshop focused on upper gastro-intestinal surgery, bariatric and metabolic surgery. Dr. Yosuke Seki, a Japanese expert in the field of MIS and guest faculty for this training course, gave the didactic lectures. The videos of the procedures were pretty cool to watch, and would have been even cooler had I not initially struggled with orienting myself with my anatomy. Are we at the duodenum? No? Is that the liver? Oh look fat! Lots and lots of fat! Lots of complicated procedures were discussed, including Loop Duodenojejunal Bypass With Sleeve Gastrectomy, Gastro-jejunostomy, Gastric Pouch creation, and Jejuno-jejunostomy (wait, what? the jejunum is re-attached to itself?!). It was two days of hardcore higher learning for me! :) Special thanks to Dr. Benevidez, surgical resident, for helping me understand the bariatric surgery procedures!

Dr. Seki - LSGDJB
Dr. Seki from Tokyo shows how they do laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy-duodeno-jejunal bypass in Yotsuya Medical Cube. I really should have attempted to take a video. The suturing technique was crazy fast, enough to make this complicated procedure look easy! Amazing! :)

I found trying the Simbionix really entertaining. Sugoi (cool), as our Japanese friends would say! It’s this training simulator that looks like some far-out video game. The controls simulated the feel of the endoscopes and other apparatus used in minimally invasive surgery. It was way difficult to control, especially with my annoying wrist pain still giving me trouble. Training modules were programmed into the machine, and you can try your hand at simulated suturing, stapling, and what not.

Simbionix 1
I want a Simbionix of my own! :)) Yeah right. This cool training device costs millions. Maybe I can get another try at it before my elective ends. Haha! I have yet to pass a module! Poor daw yung accuracy at economy ng hand movements ko. Sorry naman! Haha!
Dr. Seki seems to find it easy though! :))
Dr. Seki seems to find it easy though! :)) He says it’s a pretty interesting and cool training device, but the feel is still far off from the actual thing. No training device will actually give us an exact feel, I guess, but this is pretty close enough! Definitely a handy thing to have during one’s training days~ 

Again, my thanks to all the consultants, fellows and residents of the Institute of Surgery for making me feel welcome and only just a bit lost at the workshop.My favorite part was definitely the food. Haha! There is never a shortage of food around here. Everyone keeps asking me if I ate already. Haha! Hooray for sushi on day one, and lechon on day two! Hooray for higher learning! 

Here’s hoping the sky will clear out soon!

2 thoughts on “Hooray for Higher Learning: Angeli in SLMC Week 2

Leave a Reply

