Hospital Hygiene, Procedures and a Whole Lot of Drugs

Getting your brain to work again after a loooooooooooong four-month break can be quite the challenge! But I welcome this challenge with open arms! It’s been three and a half weeks since we started classes at the UP College of Medicine and LU V has been great so far. Forgive the lack of entries! I’ve been trying to turn over a new leaf – you know, trying to do advance reading and trying to do more than one reading of transes this time around. So far, so good… Though that Evidence-Based Medicine exam was definitely killer!

Anyhow, speaking of exams, we just conquered the 1st Ther 202 exam earlier! Well, it wasn’t that bad of an exam. It was actually pretty reasonable, aside from the Rational Use of Antibiotics part (Really? We were supposed to memorize all the bacteria those drugs had activity for? Reaallly?). Based on the feedback, I think I passed. Thank you Mommy for grilling me on Pedia Pharma a couple of days ago – perfected that part easily! ;)

To make up for my lack of blog entries over the past weeks, here is a quick picture rundown of what’s been happening. We are definitely preparing well for our upcoming clinic duties at the OPD! 

 

Behold the PPG! No, not the Power Puff Girls (Hahaha! JAAAAN~) - Personal Protective Gear lecture with the HICU nurses. That's us with out N95 masks - do not be fooled, wearing those with grace and flair takes serious skill! At first, I couldn't get  them on without knocking the glasses off my face!
Behold the PPG! No, not the Power Puff Girls (Hahaha! JAAAAN~) – Personal Protective Gear lecture with the HICU nurses. That’s us with out N95 masks – do not be fooled, wearing those with grace and flair takes serious skill! At first, I couldn’t get them on without knocking the glasses off my face!
Babablock 3-B takes on the clinical procedures skills training! Here are AJ and Gienah demonstrating proper wound care - remember to separate the sterile from the unsterile! :)
Babablock 3-B takes on the clinical procedures skills training! Here are AJ and Gienah demonstrating proper wound care – remember to separate the sterile from the unsterile! :)
Reggie takes on the IV Catheter Insertion station! Too bad it was on a dummy. I bet it's nothing like doing it on an actual patient!
Reggie takes on the IV Catheter Insertion station! Too bad it was on a dummy. I bet it’s nothing like doing it on an actual patient!

Boo. No pictures for our Blood Extraction station. I took me a second try to actually extract blood from my awesome forever-and-ever-and-ever partner Yna – You’re awesome, girl! :* Actually, now that I think of it, no pictures of either of us for this skills lab session – I should really hand the camera over next time

Growing up with doctor parents means seeing a lot of THESE around the house. I remember doodling on loose sheets when I couldn't find anything else to write on. Haha! BUT NOW... Voila! We've been taught how to use these properly! Looking forward to day when these fake prescriptions become official...
Growing up with doctor parents means seeing a lot of THESE around the house. I remember doodling on loose sheets when I couldn’t find anything else to write on. Haha! BUT NOW… Voila! We’ve been taught how to use these properly! Looking forward to day when these fake prescriptions become official…

Did you know that it’s not Rx but actually R/? Yep, that’s a slash, people. Not an ‘X’. R/ comes from the Latin “recipere” meaning “take” or “take thus”. O di ba? Fun fact. :)) 

 “Start low, go slow”  – On Geriatrics and Polypharmacy, Dr. Abat

In other news, I am officially BLS-certified! Again, no pictures. :( But, yeah… We had a one-day workshop with the EMTs and Emergency Medicine residents. Pretty cool. :) I don’t think my weak lungs – BV you, asthma! – can handle doing rescue breaths for a full 2 minutes though… Let’s hope I never have to do that. 

“Push hard and fast” – On doing a high-quality CPR, BLS 

Hooray for the weekend! It’s probably my last chill weekend before the dreaded Systemics module starts – dun dun dun. I am so not looking forward to the Infectious Disease-Trauma-Oncology killer combo. Huhuhu. Ah well. I survived helLU4, so I can definitely handle this! Game face on, Med! :) 

Leave a Reply

