Mommy and Me Bonding in Baguio: Day Two

It’s time for something new! Experience, after all, is gold – especially true for writers like me who are dependent on said priceless treasures for inspiration whenever we write. Day Two of our Baguio adventure is all about the undiscovered. Let’s roll!

Day Two, Friday, April 25, 2014

8:00 am – After an early breakfast, Mommy and I get started on our itinerary! We hired a car just for the occasion! Kuya Roland was really nice :) I wasn’t used to having a driver wait outside while I went off to go sight-seeing. Oh well, I guess it’s part of the whole ‘this-day-is-for-the-undiscovered’ thing. Haha!

First stop, the La Trinidad Strawberry Fields! Ahhh! The plantation! Farmville doesn’t do the real thing justice at all. I didn’t know strawberry plants were sooooo small. I was thinking along the lines of bushes but was I wrong. The picking experience was a little too expensive, so Mommy and I decided to just buy pre-picked strawberries and take pictures around the fields.

Sing with me now~! Strawberry fields forever~!
Sing with me now~! Strawberry fields forever~!

 

Look! It's a strawberry! :))
20140425_083515Look! It’s a strawberry! :))

Next, it’s off to Dinosaurs Island and Holy Land, new attractions found at a place collectively known as the Baguio EcoPark along Marcos Highway. Both parks are new and there was still plenty of stuff still under construction. What’s more, to get to all the fun stuff, you had to walk, walk, walk and walk some more. In Dinosaurs Island, there was also a lot of climbing involved. Had to catch my breath several times! Still, I had lots of fun! It was a pretty good idea for us to head over here early – we practically had the place to ourselves! I really appreciate the tour guides imparting bits of trivia here and there. Both places have a lot of potential, plenty of room for improvement. I’d personally like more interactive parts to the tour. :) Like, feed the dinosaur or help Samson break the columns. Haha. Or have actors really portray the stories behind the exhibits, not just statues! That would be awesome!

Welcome to the Holyland! :)
Welcome to the Holyland! :)
Samson: Hey there, Delilah... Angeli: Uh, nooo... :))
Samson: Hey there, Delilah…
Angeli: Uh, nooo… :))
If this had been a real battle, we'll be goners :)) Imagine! Standing in between David and Goliath. Haha! Then again, my superwoman Mommy can protect me. Hehe~
If this had been a real battle, we’ll be goners :)) Imagine! Standing in between David and Goliath. Haha! Then again, my superwoman Mommy can protect me. Hehe~
Look at me, Ma! I'm parting the Red Sea! Hahaha! The mist effect was pretty cool!
Look at me, Ma! I’m parting the Red Sea! Hahaha! The mist effect was pretty cool!
Here in the manger with Baby Jesus, Mama Mary, St. Joseph, the Three Wise Men, the shepherds and the animals...
Here in the manger with Baby Jesus, Mama Mary, St. Joseph, the Three Wise Men, the shepherds and the animals…
Mommy joins the Women of Jerusalem in witnessing the Passion of the Christ. Holyland features the 14 stations of the cross (the old way) in life-size exhibits like this one.
Mommy joins the Women of Jerusalem in witnessing the Passion of the Christ. Holyland features the 14 stations of the cross (the old way) in life-size exhibits like this one.
Mount Calvary~ This station features a spot for lighting candles. Holyland features several spots for reflection and prayer.
Mount Calvary~ This station features a spot for lighting candles. Holyland features several spots for reflection and prayer.
Sitting with the Angels at the last part of the Holyland pilgrimage :)
Sitting with the Angels at the last part of the Holyland pilgrimage :)
Welcome to Dinosaurs Island! Well, it's not really an island, more of a mountain, but oh well... :))
Welcome to Dinosaurs Island! Well, it’s not really an island, more of a mountain, but oh well… :))
Choice transportation? Dinosaur! Oh my... :))
Mode of transportation of choice? Dinosaur! Oh my… :))
Ahhhh! T-rex! :))
Ahhhh! T-rex! :))
Lookie! It's the klepto dinosaur! :)) Pardon my memory~ I completely forgot what this little fella's name is but I do remember that he's the one who likes stealing the eggs...
Lookie! It’s the klepto dinosaur! :)) Pardon my memory~ I completely forgot what this little fella’s name is but I do remember that he’s the one who likes stealing the eggs…
What an egg-siting day! :)) || I'm coming out! I want the world to know~ Gotta let it show~!
What an egg-siting day! :)) || I’m coming out! I want the world to know~ Gotta let it show~!

I’M EXHAUSTED. I blame my physically unfit self for getting tired so easily! The day isn’t over yet though! Next stop, the BenCab Museum – s’yempre, kasi cultured kami! :))

Owned by one of our National Artists for Visual Arts, the BenCab Museum doesn’t just feature BenCab’s works. No, the collection is diverse but nonetheless, amazing and beautiful. The four-storey building has paintings and sculptures that are more than just eye-candies. Special collections include one on the Cordillera Art, Contemporary Art, and Art from the Masters (works from National Artists). What’s more, the garden is equally as breath-taking! I’d love to spend an afternoon there with a notebook and pen at hand. Seems like a great place to relax and just write.

The BenCab museum! :)
The BenCab museum! :)
Look at all the bulols!
Look at all the bulols!
My beautiful Mommy in the beautiful gardens :)
My beautiful Mommy in the beautiful gardens :)
Me and the Variations of Sabel mural :) I took plenty of pictures of the artwork but I'm not sure my blog is the right place for them pictures. So yeah... :))
Me and the Variations of Sabel mural :) I took plenty of pictures of the artwork but I’m not sure my blog is the right place for them pictures. So yeah… :))

Ahhhh! What a tiring morning! To top it all off, time for a trip to the bookstore! And not just any bookstore, Baguio’s very own Mt. Cloud Bookshop. This place is quaint but definitely has a lot of character. A definite standout from all the bookstores I’ve been in before. :) I wouldn’t mind being left here for a whole day. The books are open and potential buyers are more than welcome to spend time browsing and reading. Kewl~!

I know, right? I am so predictable :)) Of course I had to visit a bookshop!
Words cannot express how much I love books – they bring countless undiscovered treasure. That’s true love right there! :)

Fatigue from all the morning excitement as well as the rain that came that late afternoon made us head back to the hotel early. Rest and dinner via room service! Woooh! What a day! How’s that for discovering the undiscovered? :)

Leave a Reply

