Mommy and Me Bonding in Baguio: Day One

Let the adventure begin! We’ve been joking about just taking a bus all the way to Baguio for quite some time now. I never expected us to eventually push through it, but here it is! I guess we have Chino and the CMLI SummerCon to thank for giving us reason to go for this trip. Woooh! Let’s get it on!

Day Zero, Wednesday, April 23, 2014

11:15PM – The bus leaves the Victory Liner Cubao terminal at exactly the scheduled time. Traveling in first class accommodations means having a stewardess on board, snacks and a small comfort room. Just our luck when Mom and I found out that our seats are located right next to said comfort room. Luckily, it doesn’t have that unpleasant comfort room smell – I guess passengers don’t really use it anyway, what with the real comfort of the ride being the comfy recliner chairs that make a nice long nap possible. Music serves as my escape for the first half-hour but lights off in the bus made it impossible to resist closing my eyes and giving in to the call of sleep.

Day One, Thursday, April 24, 2014

 3:20am – I wake to bilateral ear pain, the obvious change in climate – brrr! cold! –  and the voice of the stewardess announcing that we were now arriving at the Baguio terminal. Already?! But I’m still sleepy! is the first thought that comes to mind. It’s still so dark and our check-in time isn’t until later at noon. And so, with no other place to go, Mom and I crash at Ibay Zion Hotel, site of the CMLI SummerCon, where Chino and his friends are saying and holding their workshops. Let’s see if I can stack up on a couple for zzz’s before this day officially begins.

7:00am – The sound of a megaphone cuts my somehow unrestful nap to a short; Chino and the other CMLIers were up and ready to begin their workshops. Mom and I left to start off our Baguio adventure – for real, this time.

Mines View Park is a popular tourist spot that boasts of the best view of the Benguet mountain ranges.
Mines View Park is a popular tourist spot that boasts of the best view of the Benguet mountain ranges.

It was early morning, so there weren’t much people out yet. Mom and I got to enjoy the view of Mines View Park to ourselves. How does it feel like to be at the top? Well, let me just say that the view is spectacular. :)
We eat breakfast at a nearby eatery – beef steak and adobo – and the owner was kind enough to guide us to the next tourist attraction.

Sitting pretty behind the spectacular scenery! :)) It almost looks like I'm somewhere outside the Philippines, but no! Still in the country, folks. This is Baguio!
Sitting pretty with the spectacular scenery behind me! :)) It almost looks like I’m somewhere outside the Philippines, but no! Still in the country, folks. This is Baguio!

We took a cab to the Mansion, the Presidential vacation house here in Baguio, and then, we walked through Wright Park. A hundred steps down and more steps around the rotonda and through the main road, we eventually got to the Botanical Gardens. Unfortunately, with the weight of our bags, Mom and I couldn’t really enjoy sight-seeing that much, and so we opted to just head straight to Hotel Supreme for check-in.

The Mansion - the Presidential vacation home here in Baguio! :) I wonder if I'll ever be allowed inside. One of my stories features the Presidential daughter and for authenticity, a tour of the Presidential homes would be very much appreciated! :) Well, maybe one day... Haha!
The Mansion – the Presidential vacation home here in Baguio! :) I wonder if I’ll ever be allowed inside. One of my stories features the Presidential daughter and for authenticity, a tour of the Presidential homes would be very much appreciated! :) Well, maybe one day… Haha!
20140424_080952
Welcome to Wright Park! :) The stroll would have been more enjoyable had we not been dragging along our heavy luggage. Backpacking sucks when you're trying to sight-see :( Welcome to Wright Park! :) The stroll would have been more enjoyable had we not been dragging along our heavy luggage. Backpacking sucks when you’re trying to sight-see :( 
Ahhh... The Botanical Gardens :)
Ahhh… The Botanical Gardens :)

Thank God the people here are so nice! They seem so used to tourists and the hospitality is just amazing. Mom and I spent a few hours getting a nap and freshening up, waking at around 3pm. My stomach made it very clear that it wasn’t very happy about me sleeping through lunch time, so Mom and I head over to SM Baguio for lunch at Savory. Just because we have time to spare, we catch a movie too – Heaven is for Real. Pretty nice film that makes you wonder just what really awaits us in the after life.

Mommy and Me selfie - the first of many during this entire trip. :))
Mommy and Me selfie at SM Baguio – the first of many during this entire trip. :))

Night strolling at Burnham Park after stocking up on drinks at the supermarket. Because it rained in the afternoon, the place was a bit muddy. Mom and I were treated to the sight of dancing fountains. There wasn’t really that much to do since it was already dark, so after having a quick dinner at the nearby Chowking, we decided to call it a day and head back to the hotel and just chill.

Lava cake for a night snack! Woooh! And of course, my day wouldn’t be complete without my preferred dessert, a nice good read – finished Jenny Han’s “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’, reading straight up to midnight. No regrets! Really good book with just the right amount of sweetness, kilig and a reality check. And besides, boys who get along with your younger siblings = a definite plus, plus, plus. I might write a full review after our Baguio trip. :)

 

Leave a Reply

