Give Me Love

Let me start this long overdue blog entry through the awesome vocals of one of my favorite vocalists, Ed Sheeran. Please, please, pleaaaase visit the Philippines already? I will do whatever it takes to get tickets when that happens! 

Okay! So, happy post Valentine’s week! Coincidentally, it was also pseudo-benign GastroIntestinal week, meaning it was time to take things slow and just relaaaaax. Well, pseudo-relax. In the end, just when you get the time to do things, you end up not doing certain things you should have been doing – like writing blog entries (man, this sentence sucks but in the spirit of free thought and this blog being my own personal space in cyperspace, I refuse to go all editor mode!). Oh well, what’s done is done and what’s not done is not done, so to make up for things somewhat, I now present the week that has been in a nutshell:

Monday, February 10: Welcome to a brand new module! OS 214 tackles the digestive and excretory systems – that’s GI and Renal, two subjects I – unfortunately – don’t really like. Thankfully, we start the module right with an awesome lecture from one of my favorite UPCM professors, Dr. Blesile Mantaring. Yep, embryology of the GI tract. Whaddup yo?! Only Dra. Mantaring can turn such a boring topic into a pretty interesting and easy-to-understand one. Thank you, ma’am! :) The whole afternoon was dedicated to Patho and wow, Patho talaga kung Patho! My brain couldn’t take it. I appreciate Dr. Dimacali for trying to make things as simple as possible, but really… A mega Patho lecture from 1-5pm?! Attention span = gone. Brain = shutdown.

Tuesday, February 11: It’s a MicroBio Tuesday! One of the things I regret the most about my undergrad (not that it’s finished already… haha! BV you, irregular iMed curriculum!) is not having a MicroBio subject. My fellow IntarKids can vouch for me when I say that I just feel so freakin’ lost in the world whenever we have MicroBio lab sessions. Not to worry though! Thank God for awesome groupmates who are more than eager to teach me everything I need to know! Thank you, Reggie, Marvin, Cecile and Yna~! Yey! Learning!

Wednesday, February 12: Another headache-inducing day of lectures! Yes, including another looooong afternoon of Patho. Whew. I did manage to learn something to day, ain’t that right, Dr. Dimacali?

How do you know if a lesion is benign or malignant?
Answer: BIOPSY

The real highlight of this day came in the form of an awesome “medyo-RK” anatomates dinner at Casa Armas! Woooh! The paella was awesome! Worth the hole in my wallet! Thank you Anatomates of Table 9 (a.k.a. Parokya ni Edgar) for an uber fun night! Kuwentuhan uli soon! Dapat matuloy lahat ng plans natin! ;)

Anatomates 9 (Parokya ni Edgar) at Casa Armas - Yes, that's the big pan of paella you see there, and yes, naubos namin siya. :))
Anatomates 9 (Parokya ni Edgar) at Casa Armas – Yes, that’s the big pan of paella you see there, and yes, we did finish it all! And no, I did not eat most of it. :P

The fun doesn't end with the awesome dinner! Midnight hang-out sesh at Anton's + dessert from Mini-Stop :D
The fun doesn’t end with the awesome dinner! Midnight hang-out sesh at Anton’s + dessert from Mini-Stop :D Uber fun!

Thursday, February 13: It’s LAB day! Legit LAB day. We had Patho Lab, MicroBio Lab, and Parasitology Lab all in one day. Whew. Well, I don’t like lab sessions, particularly because of the smell of… everything, but it certainly beats just sitting in BSLR-W and trying to coax your brain into absorbing information that proves too difficult to digest (pun unintended).

On the upside, I did learn a few things for MicroBio (and rightfully so, considering I have only today to master this for tomorrow's exam!) Here's my prepared stool smear and the Capillaria philippinensis egg I managed to detect :D
On the upside, I did learn a few things for MicroBio (and rightfully so, considering I have only today to master this for tomorrow’s exam!) Here’s my prepared stool smear and the Capillaria philippinensis egg I managed to detect :D

Friday, February 14 – Ah, Happy Hearts Day! :) And how did I begin this day? By going on an egg hunt – parasitic egg style! Sigh! :)) On the upside, I did manage to locate 9 eggs! (minus .25 for my score though because I failed to identify one correctly on the first try) All iz good!

Better even, come all the celebrations of love today ~ Love you, 2017! Ang sarap talagang maging part ng class na ‘to! :) Can’t be prouder!

Celebrating Valentine's Day through a POPOL sesh with the class that reigns supreme! || Ang sarap talagang maging 2017! || Picture c/o John Tanchuco
Celebrating Valentine’s Day through a POPOL sesh with the class that reigns supreme! || Ang sarap talagang maging 2017! || Picture c/o John Tanchuco

And of course, I love, love, super love you, girls – Shari, Aila and Anna! Thank you for helping me get through every day with a smile! Can’t imagine how Med School’d be without you~ :* Glad and thankful that you girls are my Valentines~ And ‘wag mag-alala! Darating din sila para sa atin. ;) Someday. Great things (or persons? hahaha!) come to those who wait!

Valentine's dinner at Cyma - yet another hole in my wallet, but worth it just the same! - and then, dessert at Ice Master (legit. wala nang laman ang wallet ko. haha) || Thank you, girls~! Love you!
Valentine’s dinner at Cyma – yet another hole in my wallet, but worth it just the same! – and then, dessert at Ice Master (legit. wala nang laman ang wallet ko. haha) || Thank you, girls~! Love you! || Photos c/o Anna Dantes

Ask and it shall be given to you. Definitely. For sure.
Give me love and look at all the love I got~! :) Awesome Valentine’s week all-in-all.

