Sixty Shades of Grey

Yep. You read right. SIXTY shades of grey and no, we are not talking about that book trilogy. We are talking about radiology! But before that, let’s back track first, shall we? :) Today has been a pretty interesting day as far as Pulmo is concerned. I actually learned quite a lot.

Sleep Disorders and Pulmonary Manifestation of Neuromuscular Disorders with Dr. Jorge

The session begins with Dr. Jorge flashing his first slide that contains a single word – QUIZ. Then, it changes to PAGSUSULIT. Of course, we all panic. No one was prepared for a quiz.

Turns out, we weren’t being quizzed on med lessons. Sir was actually getting us to evaluate ourselves on the Epworth Sleepiness Scale. I scored a 9, which is a point above the established normal standard but also not high enough for me to be considered having excessive daytime somnolence.

wait... what? :)) talk about a techie prof! Yep, Dr. Jorge actually searched for our class picture online to include it in his slides!
wait… what? :)) talk about a techie prof! Yep, Dr. Jorge actually searched for our class picture online to include it in his slides!

I’ve always found sleep a pretty interesting topic to talk about since it’s a thing we all need yet at the same time, take for granted. Just being a med student deprives me of much needed sleep and talking about just how devastating the effects of sleep deprivation can be makes me appreciate so much more the times when you can just lie down, close your eyes and drift off to dreamland.

Wet Lab Session featuring the Diagnostics and Treatment of Pulmonology 

The Clingy handgroup reunite for an afternoon of discovery as we went through the different diagnostic and treatment modalities used in the world of Pulmo. Wooo~! I shall let the pictures do the talking! :)

Kyle takes on the CPET (Cardio-Pulmomachine, testing the oxygenation
Kyle takes on CPET (Cardio-Pulmonary Exercise Testing), wherein both her cardio and pulmo systems are evaluated in assessment of exercise capacity. The graph on the screen, if you can make it out, shows her oxygenation concentration. :)
Ultrasound is performed on Marvin as we visualize his liver, lungs and diaphragm.
Ultrasound is performed on Marvin as we visualize his liver, lungs and diaphragm.<br.
The ultrasound image up close! :D The prominent white line is Marvin’s diaphragm! To its left, take note of the visible sinusoids, is the liver, while to the right are the lungs~
And of course, the radiology station of our wet lab session featured slides of x-rays and CT-scan plates. :D We were thought that the human eye can only see and distinguish between sixty shades of grey, seen through the different imaging modalities.
And of course, the radiology station of our wet lab session featured slides of x-rays and CT-scan plates. :D We were taught that the human eye can only see and distinguish between sixty shades of grey, seen through the different imaging modalities.

This day went pretty downhill from then and I would just like to thank Reggie for the comfort yogurt and to everyone who patiently allowed me to ‘explode’ over my feelings, understanding that I have a lot on my plate right now. :)

Lots of things to do tonight as I prepare for Tribyang Pusit (Level Up!) tomorrow [ It’s my first official hosting gig~! Dream come true! Wish me luck! ] as well as study for the exam on Thursday [ I am so not prepared :( ].

I end this entry by thanking God for the gift of words and writing that I may be able to freely express myself in a space that is truly mine using both words and silence whenever I see fit and whenever it feels right to me.

Leave a Reply

