Waiting for Mr. Darcy

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single 
man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want 
of a wife.”                      (Pride and Prejudice)

Time’s almost up. Christmas vacation is almost over and pretty soon, I’ll be back slaving over my transes and med books in pursuit of my dream to become a doctor.

Well, trying to make the most of my penultimate day of vacation, I decided to spend it taking time to appreciate one of my favorite books of all time, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Call me a romantic all you want, but I adore this book so much in that it speaks so much of human nature. And not to mention, it has Mr. Darcy in it. Oh come on… 

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look 
or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too 
long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that 
I had begun.”                  (Pride and Prejudice)

Anyhow, I first tried to watch Death Comes to Pemberley, this new BBC 3-part drama based on a mystery novel spin-off that takes place years after the events of Pride and Prejudice. Darcy and Elizabeth are happily married and they’re busy preparing for this ball when an unexpected visitor turns up, bringing shocking news. Well, it didn’t really sit well with me – I didn’t even finish Episode 1 -what with the whole “Oh, God. I never saw them like that.” thing going on inside my head.

“Laugh as much as you choose, but you will not 
laugh me out of my opinion.” (Pride and Prejudice)

So, I took time to  re-watch, in my opinion, one of the best P&P adaptations I’ve seen thus far – the 2005 movie starring Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen. I am not being biased just because Keira plays Elizabeth – though I do love you, Keira! Love, love, love! . I thoroughly enjoyed this version and contrary to several other opinions, I just can’t get enough of that bonus scene at the end. :) I think it serves to put more closure into the movie rather than just ending it with the laughing Mr. Bennet. AND, I cannot get enough of that wet-from-the-rain scene. Oh, come on. That was a spot on Mr. Darcy! I LOVED IT.

And, just when you thought I’d had enough P&P with that movie, no. No. I finally got around watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – http://www.lizziebennet.com/. Wait, before you react, let me do it for you – WHERE ON EARTH HAVE I BEEN? And I called myself a P&P fan! How could I have neglected to watch these incredibly entertaining videos?!  God, I know.  But, I’ve been spending most of my free time either reading or writing. Watching shows and/or movies hasn’t really been my thing, unless I am in some sort of writer’s block or if I need a break from my current read. 

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like 
reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing 
than of a book! -- When I have a house of my own, 
I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent 
library.”                    (Pride and Prejudice)

Going back to the LBD, I watched everything – like all 100 episodes – without leaving my computer. That was so good! Kudos to everyone behind the project! It was certainly a unique way to take on the classic, giving it a modern twist. Raise your hands if you adored Episode 98 as much as I did! :”>

And though I realize I pretty much spent the entire day in front of my laptop, no regrets! :D It was, after all, in appreciation of P&P.

Now, I return to my own life – trying to start up with this Headache trans in preparation for my SGD on Monday as well as continually waiting for Mr. Darcy to hurry up and find me. Not that I’m in a rush or anything. :) Every girl, I believe, is waiting for her own Mr. Darcy to come and sweep her off her feet, regardless of it involving misunderstandings, awkward dances and conversations, family problems and what not.

Happy ‘Pride & Prejudice’ Appreciation Day~! :)

“Till this moment I never knew myself.” 
                               (Pride and Prejudice)
Leave a Reply

