When You Left

For the one who was left behind…


When You Left

I must have taken it for granted.

Your smile. Your laugh.

Our every day. Our forever.

I should not be surprised, but I am.

 

I must have refused to believe in it.

A waste. A failure.

The end. The goodbye.

I should not be surprised, but I am.

 

I must have not noticed it.

What was there. What we had.

Your feelings. My feelings.

I should not be surprised, but I am.

 

I must have missed you when you left.

For I already cared. For I already loved.

But I was blind. But I was a fool.

I should not be surprised, but I am.

 

I should not be surprised, but I am.

 

– National Poetry Month –

 

 

One thought on “When You Left

  1. i like the clean lines of your intimate, moving poem. thank you for sharing it with me today. tony

Leave a Reply

