The Answer

Okay. So after getting news like no other from a certain friend of mine, this is what I came up with. I’ve always liked expressing myself through poetry, if not stories. Reminds me of why I’ve fallen in love with writing.

 

The Answer

The words flashed on the screen.

There it was. The answer.

In black and white.

I was waiting for the tears to come.

I was waiting to hear the sobs.

But instead, I found a smile on my face.

And I heard the laughter.

It was all too funny as reality came into light.

The answer has always been there.

In fact, all I needed was that affirmation.

One way or another, I guess I’ve known.

I just couldn’t get myself to accept

Without tangible proof.

But there it was. The answer.

In black and white.

And now, it’s like a thorn was plucked out,

A load removed, a burden lifted.

As I completely rid myself of that lie – your lie,

I am now able to fly high.

 

Leave a Reply

