A Freshie No More

The truth hadn’t really sunk in, even when Summer Term had ended back in May. What happened earlier was what truly convinced me of the fact that I wasn’t a freshie no more. Goodbye LU-I. Hello LU-II.

It’s some sort of tradition in UP-College of Medicine for the incoming LU-II batch (second year-INTARMED) to orient the incoming LU-I batch (first year-INTARMED). So, as our buddies from Class 2016 did before us, we, Class 2017, prepared to orient our buddies of Class 2018.

We decided to give a bit of effort in the orientation procedure, for it not to be dull, but instead fun and interesting.

So, after a class lunch and registration, we start the orientation with an icebreaker activity – modified Dr. Kwak-Kwak – a twist (i mean that literally!) to your usual icebreaker! Next up is the ever immortal Getting-to-Know-You part. We followed a simple format for the introductions – Name. Nickname. High School. Relationship Status. Something Interesting, Controversial, and Juicy (FUN FACT). Got a lot of interesting revelations from the 2018 people. Glad to see people willing to share.

An interesting ‘moment’ occurred after introductions. Will not say anything more about it as it falls under classified INTARMED info. :P

Finally, the most exciting part of the day commenced – the iMed Amazing Race! – We meant for it to be a cross between a campus tour and a buddy selection activity. For some reason, I end up a facilitator. It’s a bit complicated, considering we had prepared for it only a few hours prior to actual execution. But somehow, we managed to pull it off! Glad to have met my 2018 buddy. :) He seems like a nice guy.

All in all, it’s pretty amazing how I suddenly find myself in front of all these people – freshmen, sharing my experiences as a iMed student. Exactly a year ago, I was the freshman being oriented.

Really amazing how time passes by so quickly. LU-I was a challenging year, true, but thanks to the great friends I found in my iMed2017 classmates, I was able to get by the days with a smile. 

So, I wish our iMed2018 buddies good luck! Look forward to an exciting year at UPM. Choosing INTARMED is a decision you won’t regret. I can guarantee that. :) 

3 thoughts on “A Freshie No More

  1. My daughter is an intarmed candidate and a star scholar candidate. The latter had conducted its interview and the result was not good. Prior the interview I was brimming with confidence that she could easily pass this out banking on her lustrous academic records. But only 15 minutes through her interview by four panelists she was already out of the room to my bewilderment. I knew something was off and had to wait few more days to confirm my suspicious that she didn’t make it. I frantically wanted to know what took place during the panel interviews but she’s not much of a talker so I just leave it that way. Somehow I feel my daughter needs immediate fix. If she failed the La Salle interview I see no reason why to keep my hope high on intarmed interview. She’s basically a shy person who probably dreaded talking to matured people. But she is discipline, creative and loves book. I am writing you this as a desperate father who wanted to help her daughter pass the intarmed interview. Can you help us please? Any tips from what you gone through and came out successfully? Anything at all that may help her?

    1. Hi Mr. Cawaing! I can honestly tell you that I am equally as baffled by admission interviews. One can never know how to prepare for them because it is practically impossible to know what exactly is expected of you. That being said, all I can advise your daughter is to be herself. The interview, I believe, is all about showing personality and through it, convincing the panel that you deserve a spot. Though the process is indeed nerve-wracking, you can only do your best to give them a glimpse of who you are in those few minutes. I think the most important thing for any aspiring physician-to-be, about to take his or her interview into medical school, to keep in mind is how sure you are of wanting to become a doctor, and why you become a doctor in the first place. At the end of the day, it’s all about showing that you have the heart to become a Doktor ng Bayan, Doktor para sa Bayan.
      Of course, I remember having my parents’ full support before, during, and after the whole INTARMED admission process. For someone fresh out of high school and about to make one of the most important decisions of her life (they were asking a sixteen-year-old, who probably doesn’t know any better, to decide on her future already!), it’s always a comfort to know that you have people who have faith and trust in you, people you can go home to, no matter what the outcomes of the endeavors you face, may it be success or temporary failure.
      Hope this helps you, somehow. Good luck to your daughter! :)

      1. Hi Angeli,

        You just don’t know how valuable that piece of advice you gave to my daughter. I had your comment read by her and both of us are very thankful for the thoughts and time you shared with us. Rest assured my daughter has learned a lot from her earlier mistakes. Both her parents gave a mock interview and we saw many factors that we weren’t expecting from her. Coupled with your advice I believe she’s in better position now than before.

        Again, thank you and God bless. :)

Leave a Reply

